MANCHESTER RESTAURANTS - Second Floor Brasserie at Harvey Nichols Manchester | About Us | Advertise |
Restaurants Of Manchester  
Click here for special offers and events at Harvey Nichols Manchester

Home | Special Offers | Submit a restaurant review | Manchester Bars | What's On in Manchester | Manchester Hotels | Subscribe
Manchester Restaurants by Location | Restaurants by Cuisine | Top 10 Best Restaurants in Manchester | Manchester Restaurant A-Z

European Restaurants in Manchester | Restaurants near MEN Arena | near Royal Exchange Theatre | near the shops | Hi-Life | H | S
 
 
Second Floor Brasserie
Tel. 0871 977 3898
21 Cathedral Street, Manchester, M1 1AD [map]
~ 3 mins walk to the Royal Exchange ~
~ 5 mins walk to the MEN Arena ~
Casual European Asian brasserie at the exclusive Harvey Nichols Manchester department store
Second Floor Brasserie at Harvey Nichols Manchester
 
 
 
 
Second Floor Brasserie at Harvey Nichols Manchester - overall reader reviews
food
price
service
smartness
overall:
most popular dish: Pork & Apple Sausages with mash (£10)
 
 
 
 
Second Floor Brasserie Manchester - members' reviews
Trusted Reviewer "The decor at Harvey Nichols Brasserie is nice, as is the contemporary stylish food. Whilst the lights are perhaps a bit too bright, it's good for meeting friends and for business but perhaps not the most romantic locations in town (for that you'd be better visiting the adjacent Harvey Nichols Restaurant). The food is good and they have a good selection of different dishes, which were mainly traditional English cuisine. I had a Sausage with Mashed Potatoes & Gravy (£10), which perhaps is not the most exotic dish you can have, but the taste and consistency of the food was good. The price is reasonable although you can probably find the same dishes cheaper elsewhere in town but all in all, it was good. The staff were friendly and the service was quick. It's worth mentioning though that this visit was quite late so they were not very busy. Overall the dinner at the Second Floor Brasserie was a pleasant experience combined with good food, reasonable prices, friendly, efficient staff and nice decor. The Second Floor Brasserie is absolutely worth visiting if you still haven't had the pleasure of it yet and, if you have been there, it certainly is worth going again. I will be doing." - Dan, Manchester ~ TRUSTED REVIEWER ~ (1/3/10 - visited on a Wednesday evening)

Trusted Reviewer "The Brasserie at Harvey Nichols is a very nice venue for a girly lunch when you need a break from retail therapy. The food was good and portion sizes were sensible so you're fortified sufficiently to hit the shops again but don't feel as though you've gone up a dress size! The atmosphere is relaxed and the service good" - Colette Pennington, Guernsey (26/7/09 - visited on a Monday lunch)

Trusted Reviewer "My wife and I ate at Harvey Nics at 6.30pm Saturday evening before going to see Mark Knopfler at the MEN. Telegraph Road was fantastic! We had booked our table using their online booking service, which is easy to use and considering the queue at the Brasserie reception, I was glad we had! The maitre'd showed us straight to our table.

The Brasserie is very modern and obviously very popular. The waitress was attentive, but she was a little stand offish. A minor point, but as everything else was spot on, it did stand out.

The food arrived promptly, on warm plates and was cooked to perfection. I had Morecambe Bay Shrimps to start, followed by a very tender Rib Eye Steak. My wife had the asparagus which is just in season and was a delight along with the rib eye. The Rhubarb Cheese Cake was heavenly! I ordered the house white as recommended by a 'Trusted Reviewer' and it was excellent value.

In summary, a modern restraunt, centrally located serving top quality food at a reasonable price. Definately worth a visit"
- richard newman, chinley 22/5/08 (visited on a Saturday evening)

Trusted Reviewer "Lovely atmosphere, attentive staff with ok food and a little over priced.

Is it me or is every 'British' restaurant now serving Corned Beef Hash? I must admit that I do tend to order it but it's not really a novelty anymore and I still think Sam's/Tom's Chop Houses do the best version.

Our server helped us with the menu and recommended the fish. Neither of us are big fish fans but my friend opted for the Pan-fried Dourade after being told it didn't taste overly fishy. She absolutely loved it and is tempted to go back to have the dish again! I enjoyed my Tomato Tarte Tatin, but for £10 it was over priced. It tasted lovely but there wasn't much to it and it didn't look like it took much effort to make - the sort of thing you can knock up as a starter at a dinner party in ten minutes.

The wine was delicious, which was a house white, but tasted much more expensive than it actually was.

As a big cheese fan, I ordered the Cheese Board for dessert. What a disappointment! You could tell the cheese was of good quality but there was no variety and my server was unsure of the selection I had been given. It actually looked like Red Leicester, Cheddar and smoked cheese. Where were the blue and creamy cheeses? No thought had been put into this selection. Nice crackers though. Meanwhile my friend loved her Apple & Blackberry Crumble, which makes me look like I am a moaning sod but this is a review. They also automatically charge 10% service charge to the bill, that riles me no end"
- clare, ashton-under-lyne 3/4/08 (visited on a Thurs evening)

Trusted Reviewer "I've been to the Second Floor Brasserie on a few occassions now - not to be mistaken with the Second Floor Restaurant which is far superior. It's a reliably good quality restaurant serving fine food but in a far from snug environment. Reminiscent of an airport terminal restaurant, you feel like you need to keep interupting your meal to double check the departure boards, in case they've called the gate for your flight. The multi-coloured lighting in the evening almost adds to the sterile feeling. The food on the other hand is excellent, my T-bone steak was cooked to perfection and good value for money, the Rocquefort Salad starter was beautiful (if you like Rocquefort of course) and the choice of desserts is excellent. If you can't get into the 2nd Floor Restaurant then this is a worthy second choice, however be warned - they charge 10% service charge automatically - even at the bar!" - matthew, manchester 21/1/08 (visited on a Sat evening)

Trusted Reviewer "We ate around 2pm, and it was quiet. The decor is very impressive and the food matches it. A great deal of care was taken over the presentation, but it certainly isn't style over content. The staff were very attentive and friendly. I ordered Haddock Fish Cakes to start, which were cooked beautifully and the Chicken for the main course which was very flavoursome, the way chicken used to taste. It came with a mix of flavours such as sun-dried tomatoes and artichoke which all added to the overall impressive nature of the dish. Somewhere you might take your mum if out shopping in town during the day." - paul, bolton 8/1/08 (visited on a Weds afternoon)

Trusted Reviewer "I thoroughly enjoyed the meal, especially the Black Pudding starter. The service was top notch. Worth a visit." - rob, manchester 8/1/08 (visited on a Tues lunch)

 
 
Harvey

Submit a review of Second Floor Brasserie Manchester

To submit a review of Harvey Nichols Brasserie, you must be a Pride Of Manchester member...
 
 
 
Not yet a Member?
Pride Of Manchester members receive weekly...
~ Exclusive restaurant offers (including 2 for 1 deals)
~ Exclusive theatre offers (including many 2 for 1 deals)
~ Exclusive bar offers (including many 2 for 1 deals)
~ The latest news of what's on in Manchester (new concerts to be announced, comedy shows, cinema releases and pre-sale info)
We promise never to share your info with anyone else and you can manage your subscription at any point.
 
 
 
Already a Member?
If you're already a Pride Of Manchester member, simply enter your details below to submit your review...
Only members can post reviews...
Your full name:
Email address:
 
   
our hotel websites
manchester
our theatre guides
 
   
Disclaimer: All information correct 1/7/2010. RestaurantsOfManchester.com and ManchesterRestaurants.com can not be held responsible for any differences experienced at the premises listed. All images and information © 2002-11 PrideOfManchester.com